One of Those Days

I consider myself a pretty lucky person. Yeah, bad things happen to me, but not like they do normal people. I think it has a lot to do with my mentality, you know, I kind of create my luck by having a good outlook on life. For instance, I don’t have bad days, if something happens I laugh about it and let it roll away, usually the day turns out to be amazing. People are always talking about having one of those days. A day where if one thing goes wrong, everything goes wrong. That just doesn’t happen to me… Until today.

The day started out great. I woke up, like I do every morning, and walked to the bathroom for a shower. A little side note, I’m all about healthy hair so I wash it about everything other, maybe every 2 days, depending on how I’m planning to wear it. Well, today was the first day of school, so naturally I wanted to look extra sexy with silky, clean, straight hair to impress/intimidate everyone in my presence. No such luck. I got in the shower and realized I left my shampoo in Newport, where my family lives. This completely ruined everything I planned for the day, but I improvised and just used the little bit of conditioner I had left over from dying my hair. Crisis averted. Greasy hair, plus a cute shirt and a ton of make up is still a great way to make an impression…

The day went on well after that. I went to my first class, then had a great work out before my next class. After cleaning up after the gym I looked in my notebook to see where exactly my next class was going to be. It started at 12:30, at this point it was 12:20, totally cool. I opened the notebook and to my dismay, my stupid self didn’t write down the room number for my next class. Great. I tried relentlessly to look it up on my iPhone, but it would connect to the server, which means my password wasn’t working. Temple makes students change their access password every few months and apparently I forgot mine. Great, it’s 12:30. I went to the computer lab in the building that my class is in, but ended up getting my access denied entire because I attempted to log on unsuccessfully too many times.

The next leg of my journey took my to the Computer Services Office in the Tech Center, not exactly close to the building my class was in. It’s 12:45 and I’m 15 minutes late for my first day, wish my hair would have turned out better, so I could at least look good while making a bad impression. After waiting for about 15 minutes I finally met with a consultant and got my password thing sorted out and learned my class was in room 113. I finally ended up in class at approximately, 45 minutes late, only to find out there were no seats left. I spent the remainder of the class sitting Indian style on the floor like a complete loser. After class, I walked timidly to the front the room planning out what to say to the professor, ended up thinking my story was hilarious and went on to tell me she was going to use my an informational resource based on a previous class I took. Crisis averted.

My next class went great, and afterward I was planning on going to the gym, so I could lift and get all buff and stuff. I went to the bathroom and while I was in there I pulled out my keys and latched them to my belt loop and got my cell phone, so I wouldn’t have to dig around my bag when I got to 9th and Norris, where my car was parked. I called my grandma to tell her about my class fiasco and giggle about my horrible luck. When I got to  my car I unhooked my keys and realized my car key wasn’t attached. I couldn’t breathe. This isn’t actually my car, it’s my my family’s car and I drove it because I was running late and my bike’s broken. I told my grandma, and we were both freaking out when my phone died. Awesome.

I went retracing my steps from 9th and Norris back to Anneberg Hall, hyperventilating and imagining my grandma calling me over and over having no idea what to do or what happened to me. Ten minutes later I’m finally back in Anneberg, in the bathroom ferociously looking for my estranged key. It was no where to be found. It wasn’t on the shelf, and not in the stall. I felt awful. Awful enough to decided to dig in the trash can, my last beam of hope. I felt around the  dirty, disgusting trash can, full of used tissues and paper towels, only to find my lost car key buried underneath all the trash debris. My heart skipped a beat. I pulled my key out and a warm feeling of relief overtook my entire body. My luck was restored. I found my key and all was right with the world.

So, was this a good day or a bad day? I’m not entirely sure, all I know is, I’m pretty freaking lucky.

Leave a comment

Filed under complaint department, crazy

Leave a Reply

